top of page
  • Writer's pictureJack Whitsel

Artist Profile - Ural Akyuz


This post is a spotlight for an incredible artist. His artwork has been used on numerous books across multiple genres. Whether fantasy, history, or science fiction, his talent has been an integral part of bringing an author's work to life.



Jack - Hello, Ural! So nice to talk and work with you again. When I started to work on my Shadow Fey project, part of the excitement was knowing that you were going to help with the visual imagery of my world. Its been awhile since we've worked together. What have you been up to recently?



Ural: Hello Jack.

We have created very efficient and harmonious work together. Your articles

and visual ideas are very successful. For this reason, working

together again makes me very happy.

Currently, I am able to do promotion and design work as a freelancer for

clients from various countries for dozens of different luxury brands

that you can see walking the streets of Manhattan. My work has entailed illustrations, visual designs, videos, architectural projects, advertising campaigns, websites, book and

magazine designs, software user interfaces and oil painting works

for fantasy subjects. We have also prepared educational books and animated stories.

I also collaborate with a group of artists to create interactive sets that

teach reading and writing to the kids. In short, I work hard,

have fun, and spare a little time for sleep.


Jack - Can you walk us through the process of a drawing assignment?




Ural : I believe that it is necessary to think of each drawing work as a

separate brand id. Each picture must have a common identity and

describe the subject correctly. But it has to be free and

self-sufficient to protect it's soul while expressing its power to others.

There is a phenomenon called fashion. If you cannot create a

habit of thinking differently for each product, after awhile, you start producing

outdated things. Therefore, I feel compelled to improve

myself with every new product.

Since I can work on different subjects, the first thing I do is

enter the mood of that topic and examine the latest, related works. Maybe it may seem like an For Example; a fantasy-related work, I will examine everything I can find

about the topic for a day or two. What about the

clothes, facial expression, etc. I also search through my own archive and work with

3D models to assist in visualizations. Then the drawing process begins. Even though I use

a drawing tablet and technology, my drawings are completely in the

classic style. I create the contours in my head in great detail. Then

begins the shadows and lighting effects. I create every shade by hand.

Thus, each picture is unique. Shadows and lighting take 2-3 hours for an

amateur person. But for a real professional work it can take 3-4 days.


Jack - What was your most difficult assignment? How did you overcome the obstacles?


Ural: I can't really classify any assignment as one more

difficult than another. However, I can say that the most difficult part

of an assignment is understanding peoples' expectations and finding the

right solutions in order to fulfill them. In fact, this is a valid situation, not only in art, but in every subject. Apart from that, there are not many difficulties I face with my paint,

colors and pencils.


Jack - Do you prefer any genres over the others?



Ural: Fantasy, science fiction, and western I enjoy working on the most. Unfortunately, Western is not as popular as before. But I also try to do something different from

time to time to extend my abilities. Even if I don't like it, working on other topics sharpens my mind.


Jack - Do you have a specific routine and/or ritual incorporated in your work?

(For example...do you always work in morning or night? Do you have a specific chair you use, or specific beverage you drink while you work? Or a specific type of music you listen to., etc)





Ural: Creating artwork requires sitting down for a long time and great

patience. There needs to be something around me to keep me interested.

Silence and motivation are very important in the thinking and decision

making process of the business. But when the creative part is complete,

it's just drawing, lighting and shadow over and over again. At this

stage, listening to a podcast, radio, YouTube discussions about

scientific topics or listening to scientific documentaries. I like to listen to some classical

music. But frankly, I think it can be an offense to a good piece of music if you listen while working. It seems to me that it is more appropriate to devote special time to just

listening to music.


Jack - What advice can you give to aspiring artists?



Ural: I would like to tell them that it is difficult to change the world. Our

first task should be to understand the world correctly. Then they will

realize that the world is actually changing itself. One duty of an artist

is to discover the reasons behind this and show it to those who cannot see it.

I think seeing the big picture from the beginning will enable them to

reach the target more easily. Artists should improve themselves very

well in all areas. Art exists to beautify the world and take it further

according to my own particular philosophy. I think we should apply this

philosophy to our everyday lives.

And of course, hard work is also a must.




Jack - Where are all the places that people can find you?


Ural: Depending on the job, I might need to travel. I never know which

country I'll be in. Therefore, I think my most permanent

addresses will always be my web addresses.


Jack - Thank you, so much Ural. I can honestly speak for many authors when I say, we definitely appreciate your amazing gift. Anything you'd like to add before signing off.



Ural: Thank you for this opportunity. It's nice to be together again for Shadow Fey. I will try to use my experience of more than 30 years to create the best work possible.



**** All artwork on post is by Ural Akyuz.


See his work at http://uralakyuz.com/

59 views0 comments
bottom of page